Opera novellas

«Tenderness» by Vitaly Gubarenko, «Letter from an Uknown Woman»

by Antonio Spadavecchia, «Waiting» by Mikael Tariverdiev

Running time:

2 hours with

one intermission.

Premiered on

16 December 2010.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

Three short stories exposing secluded spots in a woman’s heart where men cannot enterThis production comprises three mono operas by 20th-century composers which are based on famous novellas. They are united by the same idea and make an opera triptych called «Voice of a Woman».


The Voice of a Woman captures women’s most secret desires and worries, expressed by Tariverdiev’s, Spadavecchia’s and Gubarenko’s dramatic and sincere music. The characters are driven only by passionate and selfless love. It does not need a real object in the Letter of the Unknown Woman; it is tender and sacrificial in Tenderness; it is an ideal and sublime dream of a modern businesslike yet romantic 

woman in Waiting. The three operas are confessions addressed to Him, the beloved one.The characters of Zweig’s and Burbusse’s novellas write letters which reveal their deep feelings and tragic fate. Rozhdestvensky’s modern woman delivers her inner monologue in anticipation of

a date while waiting for her beloved. Her waiting for him turns out to be an expectation of a great and eternal love…